Random - A/V Problems

vbimport

I have an extensive collection of DVD’s and I’m on a mission to ripp them all to my Vista media center ( I just like the convenience.). Ripping over a 1000 DVD’s is a real pain but I’m a very patient person.

The issue at hand is that 1 out of every 5 DVD movies has a problem. It’s either the A/V is out of sync.

or while playing the video if I attempt to jump ahead I find that the sound disappears. The sound will not return unless I go back to the beginning of the avi file.

I’ve already ruled out hardware because I’ve confirmed these issues between 2 Unique computers. however they were both running Vista.

I’ve tried downloading the latest Vista codecs; drivers, firmware. I’ve been programming for over 20 years so I’m use to hardware; software issues… Just not sure if I’m missing something or not.

As I mentioned before I’ve had no problems duplicating the problem on either machine. very strange. can anyone make a suggestion? :frowning:

Forgot to mention I’m using v3.0.8.6

Hi Bugs…This is not unique to Vista. Does it to some degree only on some titles much as you describe on my XP SP2 P4HT 3.2 as well. I have tried the codec recommended by the DVDFab developers, which helped a good bit, but the only thing I’ve found that will let you FF/jump the slider is a free player called VLC (thanks maineman!). Perfect sync also, at least using the generic/xvid/audiocopy profile. Here is a link to their site. Try it and post the results.

Thanks very much it does work much better than WMP.

I got the Vista Home Premium Ed so I could take advantage of their MediaCenter. I use it for HDTV; DVD’s; music and videos.

I’ve been using ‘CloneDVD Mobile’ on the videos that are having problems, the video come out just fine. I would much rather use DVDFab on all my DVD’s it’s been a very frustrating problem.