Quote and Reply use on MyCE forum

vbimport

Is the Quote and Reply function used too much on the forum?

I am fairly ancient I suppose, but have no problems with short term memory loss. I am quite able to read a thread and remember things from five minutes or so as I go along. I always scroll as I come across quotes. Many members must do the same. The function is useful of course where many people are contributors to a thread. but I find it overdone.

I know nothing of running a web site, especially on a server. I know that small web sites on PC’s have problems with hosting fees and space. Would the more thoughtful use of quote and reply save any running costs on the MyCE site?

You may gather I am a newbie. If this has cropped up before I apologise. I have not yet had time to read all the threads.

All the Best to members

John

I agree. It seems a bit silly for someone to quote a complete post in their reply. However, there are times that quoting a small piece might be helpful for clarification. Or perhaps it’s useful if the thread gets really long. Not sure how it may affect site cost though.

RM

The quoting is useful when answering to someone that posted two or more posts behind, to avoid confusion.

I personally can’t see nothing that bad in this (just my opinion) :slight_smile:

Glad to get agreement from a senior member.

The software for this site is so well written that it is a pleasure to negotiate. It seems to be capable of lots of analysis and providing data. It will have a function which can investigate the space used by “Quotes” I am sure.

It might be worth MyCE’s HQ in Amsterdam looking into this and giving some guidance to members overdoing quotes in replies.