Questions relating to my pc

whats up guys, i have a few questions i was hoping to have cleared up. to give a quick rundown i have decided to put all of my media into my pc for easy access. i am new to most of what it takes to do this but i have the basics down. i picked up a hp envy desktop pc last week and it has 10 gigs of ram and a 1 terabyte hard drive. along with this i picked up a lg me14 blue ray reader/burner. its taking me about an hour fifteen minutes to rip a blue ray into my pc. they are coming in at about 6 gb or so. as far as hardware do you think my setup is sufficient or should i look to upgrade my rig with more ram ? i would really like to speed it up a bit because i have quite a few blue rays to rip. right now i have streaming set up to my tv and it works great so im good there. just looking for ideas to speed up the process. i have read about something called rip lock but i dont know how to get around it.

Most blu ray videos are in the range of 25-28gb, and more if you include menus and extras.

When you say “rip” you must be including the conversion of the blu ray to some smaller, compressed format. Ripping is usually defined as transferring the data from an optical disc to the hard drive, and this is normally uncompressed.

If you are changing formats, or compressing, you should [B]call[/B] it conversion or compression of the video. I realize that some people misuse the term “rip” and even put it in the titles of their programs, but just because the DVDFab people don’t know any better, we shouldn’t be following their poor example.

Conversion of video is generally dependent on the speed of your cpu, rather than most anything else. One hour 15 minutes is pretty quick when doing this with encoding programs that rely on the cpu. What program are you using?