Questions regarding Pioneer DVR-710

Hi All;

My brother-in-law bought and installed a Pioneer DVR-710 burner. They couldn’t get it to work, so I had a quick look at it for him, and I found Pioneers manual and website’s documentation to be very poor. For instance I couldn’t find the minimum system requirements although I did see that it should run on Win. ME, which is what they are running. The machine is 7 years old (yeah I know, time to upgrade, but cash is holding them back!). Anyway…it has a P2 400 Mhz cpu. Some questions I’m hoping you could answer for me are:

1. When I right click on the “My Pictures” folder and select send to “D” drive I get an error message that said something to the effect that I did not have access privileges. I’ve never worked with ME before so I’m not very familiar with it. Can you not burn to a CD that way in ME?

2. Is there any way to burn a file to CD in ME without an application such as Nero or Roxio? (Please see next question also, for further clarification) I tried using Windows media player but couldn’t get that to do it.

3. They can’t seem to find anything that came with it, except the rather sparse installation manual, and Pioneer’s site says it comes with a NERO OEM disc. Can anybody confirm if that is true and if there are any other installation discs that come with it?

I personally have lots of burning apps., but they are located a 2.5 hour drive away, and the just asked me to have a look at it while visiting yesterday, so I didn’t have anything with me. Also…they are on Dial-up so downloading anything is painfully slow.

Do you think they just need a proper burning app. to get going?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

John
Burlington, Ontario

One thing you can look at is it on an 80 wire IDE cable ? Most new burners require an 80 wire IDE cable

No. Only XP and up would really support that, as they have CD [and for Vista, DVD] burning supported out of the box without a separate application.