Questions about dvd+rw burning

vbimport

hi,

I am fairly new to concept of burning dvd. I have burned 4 dvds so far , 3 were perfect but the last one wasn’t good. Problems were

1. picture quality- can I change picture quality or does it depend on dvdrip?
  2. kept on skipping/freezing- Is there a program out there that can detect if there are skips in dl or burning? how do I reduce skipping and freezing when burning dvd’s. Btw, I have convertxtodvd.

and lastly
3) How can I erase data from dvd+rw. Can I use convertxtodvd to do that? Do I have to erase data once or multiple times to completely erase everything?
I burned a movie that is 800 MB and the disc I want to erase is a sony dvd+rw 4x 4.7 GB.

My dvd drive is matshita uj 841s - if that helps. thanks in advance.

Hello annalola,
unfortunately you cannot improve the picture quality of video too much. You cannot make a DVD or HD quality video from 700 MB divx or xvid avi source.
Freezing and skipping - most likely because of drive and medium incompatiblity. I had a similar drive and it hates Sony DVD+RW media - it will write them successfully but they are barely readable in all drives.
Did you try another brand of RW media, e.g. Verbatim?
You can erase any RW media in Nero CD-DVD Speed: go to Extra -> Erase Disc -> Quick -> Erase

hi pepst,

Thanks for clearing this up for me. I will check that out!

[QUOTE=annalola;2079342]hi,

I am fairly new to concept of burning dvd. I have burned 4 dvds so far , 3 were perfect but the last one wasn’t good. Problems were

1. picture quality- can I change picture quality or does it depend on dvdrip?
  2. kept on skipping/freezing- Is there a program out there that can detect if there are skips in dl or burning? how do I reduce skipping and freezing when burning dvd’s. Btw, I have convertxtodvd.

and lastly
3) How can I erase data from dvd+rw. Can I use convertxtodvd to do that? Do I have to erase data once or multiple times to completely erase everything?