Question regarding audio outputs

vbimport

Hi
I have recently purchased an LG42LF7700 LCD tv. We were told in the shop that it would work with our existing DVD Player/Cinema surround system as it had an audio output other than optical.
However, have since discovered that it is unlikely to be compatible as it only has a digital optical audio output. Is there an adaptor or do we need to purchase a whole new cinema surround system?

What Cinema surround system do you currently have???
and hopefully it’s not and all in one system with your DVD player.

You can buy converters, but I have no experience of their quality or lack thereof. Just be sure to use a good quality optical cable as getting a good connection at each end is critical with optical signals.

Hi and Welcome![QUOTE=Jacbee58;2488817]
I have recently purchased an LG42LF7700 LCD tv. We were told in the shop that it would work with our existing DVD Player/Cinema surround system as it had an audio output other than optical.[/quote]It has. For analog audio out (stereo only), there are the SCART connectors on the back. You may need an inexpensive adaptor from SCART either to 3,5mm or cinch (depends on the inputs of your audio system).

However, have since discovered that it is unlikely to be compatible as it only has a digital optical audio output. Is there an adaptor or do we need to purchase a whole new cinema surround system?
You can also return the TV and get something else. :wink:

Michael

[QUOTE=touchdown_1;2488821]What Cinema surround system do you currently have???
and hopefully it’s not and all in one system with your DVD player.[/QUOTE]

The cinema surround system is connected with our DVD player (I think they all came together) It’s Panasonic SA-HT340 Home Theatre System.

[QUOTE=Jacbee58;2489088]The cinema surround system is connected with our DVD player (I think they all came together) It’s Panasonic SA-HT340 Home Theatre System.[/QUOTE]

Hi jacbee58,