Question regarding a Pioneer DVD-RW Drive and Taiyo Yuden discs

My computer’s optical drive is a Pioneer DVD-RW DVDR-K12D. My stack of Taiyo Yuden 8x DVD-Rs has a warning on them mentioning how the discs aren’t compatible with drives that don’t comply with the new DVD-R specifications for the 8x writing speed.

Anyway, it directs me here: http://www.dvdhs.com/usa.html

I’m sure many of you know of this already, but I’m new to Taiyo Yudens and I’ve never seen this warning with anything else I’ve gotten.

But I’m guessing that I should be okay since I got my laptop in 2004. And anyway, if I write at only 2x, I should be fine, right?

Sorry if this is a really newbish question. I just want to make sure before I try these new DVD-Rs out.

Just let it burn :smiley:
If your drive supports 8x burning, thats what u use. If u go slower, even 4x, the burn quality may decrease. TY is the best as long as it is genuin.

Hmmm… well the highest my drive can burn is 2x. I thought that there was a smaller chance of errors when you burned at a lower speed.

2004 is the time I bought my Asus laptop too. It came with a TSST double layer burner 8x max. So i think yours should support 8x writing. Try different media and use CD-DVD speed from cdspeed2000.com to tell the info. Check if your firmware is up to date. See if UDMA is enabled: MyComputer>Properties>Hardware>Device Manager>IDE ATA controllers. In win XP it should show either UDMA2 or UDMA4 depending on the drive.
Later.
P.S. Burning at lower speeds is mostly relevant to CDs and burning of 16x certified dvds at 12 or 8x. Burning 8x cert dvd at 2x will increase the errors.