Question on external DVD burners being slower than internals

Hi,

I’m a complete newb to this forum and to DVD burners in general so please forgive me beforehand :bow:

Anyway, my question pertains to a new NEC-3550A burner that I purchased that I promptly converted into an external by putting it into a Bytecc 320F external enclosure.

I hooked it up using the USB 2.0 cord to my Dell Inspiron 4000 laptop which is PIII-900 MHz, BIOS A18 (I know there is an updated A23 BIOS available), 256 SD-RAM, 8MB ATI card, and a Toshiba 80 GB 5200 RPM. I bought some Memorex 16X DVD+R disc to try out and I burned a 4.4 GB data disc on my first try without making a coaster :smiley:

The question is this, it took 34 minutes!!! to burn this disk and is this:

a) ‘normal’ or average speed? (I don’t think so because all the reviews on the 3550A show that it can burn DVD+R in ~6 minutes)

b) What can I do to make this external burner burn faster? (I do defrag my hard drive before a burning session and I had 24 GB free at the time of my initial burning)

c) Is this because I have too slow of a setup?

d) Are external burners inherently slower than internal ones because of the USB 2.0/Firewire interface?

Thanks for your help. :iagree:

Internal is the fastest, firewire is a close second, and usb is mixed, depending partially on the chipset and drivers. Your USB results are actually not far from normal for USB. Some chipsets give better results than others. If speed is an issue, better look at firewire or internal.

Welcome to forum drcy. :slight_smile:

Your laptop probably only supports USB-1 (~1.2MB/s) speed. You’ll have to add a PCMCIA to USB-2 card. :wink:

I have no knowledge about your enclosure or if it’s compatible with your DVDRW though. Visit the manufacturer for additional info.