Question involving firmware

Hello,

I’m very new to DVD Burners, and this forum is really cool. I’ve learned a lot about DVD burners, software, etc. As you can tell by my name, I have a NEC 2500a. I was wondering if updating the firmware can do damage to the computer itself. I tried searching for this with no results. I am supposed to get this drive either today or tomorrow from newegg, and wanted to learn this stuff so I’m not totally lost.

Thanx in advance :bow:

No, you can’t damage your computer by updating the firmware on your NEC.

You will void your warranty by using other firmware, and if you interrupt the flash while it’s going in DOS, you may leave the drive inoperable… but you won’t kill your machine - just the drive.

no firmware flash can damage your computer!!
only with a bad flash you can destroy your drive.but you can flash it back in dos if a bad flash happens.

ihaveanec2500a Firmware flash on your NEC drive can’t damage your computer.
However if you burn DVDs using bad firmware and then play them on your standalone DVD player, they can potentially leave your DVD player inoperable!!!

j/k

Playing poorly burned dvd’s cannot leave your stand alone DVD player inoperable!

The DVD may not play, but it will NOT harm your player!

cool—thanx guys. I got the ridata dvd-r’s today. I’m just waiting for the drive, which should be here tomorrow \m/

ihave in case you did not notice, I was kidding about standalone DVD players
So don’t worry - flash free! :wink:

oh, I know. I’m still not sure if I’m going to flash my drive right away. I may burn a few dvds and get used the process, along with reading the forums, before I mess with anything. Which of Herrie’s firmware do you recommend?

I tried them all except DL firmware, thanks Herrie.I would recommend 107v2b4.

I second that recommendation…107v2b4