Question are Mad Dog badged NEC

vbimport

I hope this question is not a repaet, but I have to ask. If it is, please post the applicalbe thread. I am a Newbie to firmware flashing, but not to DVD Recorders. I recently purchased the Mad Dog ND-2500A DVD recorder. It came with firmware identified as 1.06. I have looked all over the internet, and there are several firmwares listed. I have seen different threads posted on several web-sites stating the firmware will do this and that, but always different between the web-sites. I need to know what firmware will work well with my DVD recorder. Can someone please answer the following:

1. Since I have a Mad Dog (manufacturer) NEC ND-2500A with firmware 1.06, what is the latest “official” firmware I can upgrade to?
  2. I read on another web-site I can use a patched firmware to write 4X DVD+ or - @ 8X speed. Which firmware is the one for that? Will it work on my Mad Dog version?
  3. Which firmware is used to do double layering? If I upgrade to this firmware, can I do regular single layer DVD recording?

I would appreciate any help.

Forget Maddog completely. Your drive is an NEC and all NEC firmwares will function properly on your drive.
All your questions can be answered by reading the READ FIRST: threads.

I am considering buying a Mad Dog 8X burner on sale at Office Max for $49 after rebates. I have read that it is a rebadged NEC 2500. Can it record at 8X on 4X media without hacking the firmware? If so, is it possible with Cyberpower DVD Power Producer?

You can get a media list here to see which 4x media can officially be burned @8x.
It doesn’t depend on the burning application you’re using, only on the drives’ firmware!

Thanks for the information

There’s a thread where a user posts all the possible speeds for different media with the different firmware.

http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=96140