Question About Loss of Quality

This may seem like a stupid question, but when you copy a DVD with lesser quality, due to the capacity of DVD-5, where will you see this loss of quality?

Is there anyway to compress a movie so that there is no visual loss of quality, but rather all lost in the audio portion?

Another question…

I have burned a full disc with 100% quality to a blank DVD+R DL. My computer can read it, but my DVD player cannot. Any ideas why? If my DVD player is not able to read DL discs I have burned to, then why would it be able to read the DL manufactured version? Different DL formats?

I’m a pretty big noob when it comes to this stuff, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

[QUOTE=SketchyNS;1955334]This may seem like a stupid question, but when you copy a DVD with lesser quality, due to the capacity of DVD-5, where will you see this loss of quality?

Is there anyway to compress a movie so that there is no visual loss of quality, but rather all lost in the audio portion?[/quote]
For the most the quality loss is in the video part, and most of times it can be noticed only watching the compressed movie on a large screen.

However, bear in mind that the resulting quality is related also on the original movie quality: as a general rule, the higher is the bitrate of the original, the better is the quality of compressed video.

Moreover, there is a large subjectivity in the video quality evaluation. Some people are able to see artifacts also in the original movie.

Probably it’s possible to compress the audio part, but I don’t know how to do it.

[QUOTE=SketchyNS;1955334]I have burned a full disc with 100% quality to a blank DVD+R DL. My computer can read it, but my DVD player cannot. Any ideas why? If my DVD player is not able to read DL discs I have burned to, then why would it be able to read the DL manufactured version? Different DL formats?[/QUOTE]