Question about LITEON 1213S Firmware Upgrade

vbimport

Hey guys I’m a bit new to the whole idea of upgrading a drive’s firmware, however I’ve been having issues with my LITEON drive so I felt it might help compatibility issues.

Something I’m pretty much clueless is how this works. When I use the 1653S CS0P there’s obviously many new features on the drive. 16x DVD reading/16x +R burning, not to mention the biggest difference… Dual Layer burning.

Does simply using this firmware mean my drive is perfectly capable of doing everything the 1653S can? I mean is the 1213S and 1653S essentially the same drive with only subtle differences?

Or is this only done in order to maintain better compatibility (since LITEON’s newest firmwares for the newest hardware would have the most compatibility?), and should I refrain from ever using 16x burning or using dual layered blank discs??

Thanks a ton to anyone responding to this, I realize I’m a newbie but some answers could definetly help me :D.

BTW. Those familiar with this drive, maybe you can suggest the best blank discs? I’m also looking for discs that will be compatible with the Xbox’s DVD (I have the Thompson model), because it seems that Memorex 8x discs are not.

Btw I did check the FAQ and it didn’t really answer any of my questions. Also I can’t seem to read DVD’s at 16x speed, in fact with the 1653S firmware the speed is terrible, what happened??

Yes, it means that you can do all that. I have a 1213S converted to a 1653S. I burned a DVD-R at 12x just fine. Depending on your drive, DVD+R at 16x might be a bit problematic, but oh well. +R DL @ 4x should work okay. Since this is an upgrade from a 1213S, you may wish to consider resetting the learned media calibration (see the EEPROM Utility) because the media code indices changed between the 1213S and 1653S.