Question about DVDFab 5.0.1.5 and DVD to mobile file size

vbimport

Ok I’m currently converting Stargate SG-1 to generic xvid with audiocopy and decided to just make each episode 1 CD in size or 700 megs. I’m using the 2 pass method and am getting inconsistent files from the results. I’m still kinda new at this so if I’m wrong then somebody please correct me but some of the episodes are 699 megs like I would think they should be and some are 509 megs or 524 even while 1 CD or 700 megs is selected for file size. 509 megs is quite a bit smaller than the target size and I would expect the video quality to reflect this.

Is this a bug in 5.0.1.5 or am I doing something wrong? Should all files tagret size be pretty close when DVDFab is finished? I haven’t tried this in DVDFab v4 because this is one of the Series that wouldn’t sync up after conversion in the past.

Thanks
Chris

Fixed file size is designed for movies that must fit on a given media (like on a CD). The file sizes are as close as I would expect them to be for a 40-42 minute episode. I suggest you use the fixed bitrate option and adjust the rate with the slider. It will display the file size in the adjacent box. You will get better results I think. Take note of the “bits/pixel” column in the size list. This higher this number, the better the quality of the copy (more or less). It will change as you move the bitrate slider up and down. I move the slider to get at least 0.3 bits/pixel and let the file size be whatever it is. There is no real virtue in a given size unless you need it to fit on a certain device, and you can control the size more precisely with the bitrate slider.