Question about DivX to DVDR guide

i’m a bit of a novice, and although i try to work most things out myself… (or should i say use a guide!!) i just have a couple of questions if you don’t mind helping me out. thanks in advance if you can help :slight_smile:

first of all… what exactly IS a DivX file? i hear them referred to on here all the time, and to be perfectly honest i have no idea what they are… avi, mpeg, etc. it would be pretty pointless me even continuing with this guide until i find that out, because knowing me it’s quite possible that the files i am trying to convert aren’t even Divx’s!!

second… on the guide when i am using windows explorer to find the DivX file (at least i hope it’s a DivX file) and right clicking on it, then selecting options, then summary… it says write down frame rate etc… there is nothing like that there!! It either says “description title, subject, category” etc (with no description or title etc. actually there) OR it says “summary properties are unavailable for the selected source”

as i said though, because i am unsure what a DivX file actually is it’s more than likely me being stupid again!

when i am on DVD2SVCD on the bitrate tab… where the guide says to “change all the 6 boxes to read 4400” well… there is no 4400 option, only 740, 800 and 900 so i am unsure which one to select.

i’m using windows XP if that’s relevent

thanks again

eli

A DivX as an AVI. Its an AVI that has had the Video part compressed using the Xvid codec, thats all. So it commonly just called an DivX. An Xvid is the same, just the the Xvid codec has been used on the Video stream. Audio is typically MP3. If a 90 min movie was encoded to an AVI WITHOUT any compression, it would be about 18 GIG in size, not the 700meg typically with a DivX. If the file ends in AVI, then its probably a DivX of some sort.

For that information to show, you need to have AVI associated with Windows Media Player. You obviously have it associated with some other software.