QSI DVDRW SDW-042 Firware Needed

Been after firmware or driver updates for this model can’t find them anywhere.
Can anyone help please. By the way you can probally tell i’m a bit of a noob.

Many thanks if you can help!

Jonesy

This is the worst DVD writer I’ve ever seen. If you have luck and find anything about the firmware upgrade, please let me know.

TIA

I got one of these drives in a Gericom notebook. Not managed to find any firmware update even the qsi site says they don’t provide them.

As for finding compatible disks that too is a nightmare, not found any dvd-r that are compatible, not tried cd writing yet.

I think thats the trouble when you get an unknown (well it was to me) manu of a drive in your pc, you have trouble finding compatible disks and even updates for it. No doubt if it was a toshiba or sony or similar brand most of these problems wouldn’t exist or at least there would be plenty of webpages including manu ones to assist you. QSI seem to not be interested in the end user whatsoever.

Yes, QSI releases firmware only to OEMs like Acer, not to end users. IMHO that’s a bad policy. For this reason and others, I will think very carefully before buying this hardware again.

As for compatible media, there is a PDF document with the “certified” list.

Hi RG, Could you let me know where the certified list is please.

I am having a similar problem with the QSI SDW-082S dvd drive in my new Averatec notebook. Any ideas appreciated on where to find a firmware upgrade.

Managed to burn succesfully with 8x DVD-R RITEKG05 disks (RiDATA), burnt data and also backed up a british comedy series dvd. Both played on my main computer and also the dvd video on standalone DVD players.

So if your looking for disks these are good ones to go for. I believe these disks to be easily available worldwide, certainly fine in the UK.