PX-W4824TA/SW isn't recognized as a burner

I just got the new PX-W4824TA/SW burner today. Removed my existing PX-W2410TA/SW, installed the new drive, but am instantly frustrated with it.

You can read from it no problem.

I can burn to it with Clone CD. I can also burn to it using the built-in Windows XP burning feature.

Nero, CDR Win, and EZ CD Creator will not recognize it as a burner. In Windows Explorer it is identified as “CD Drive”. My other CD burner (Lite-On) shows up as “CD-RW Drive”.

I uninstalled the Roxio, Blind Write, and CDR Win ASPI layers. I uninstalled and reinstalled the drive. The drive is still identified in Windows Explorer as just “CD Drive”.

Note: The Plextor 24X burner worked fine.

Pretty bizarro.

Does anyone else have one of these drives yet? Is it working for them?

I have an MSI K7D Master-L motherboard. The drive is connected to IDE2.

Guess what, I just updated my Nero 5.5.9.0 to 5.5.9.9 and now it can recognize my drive. I just successfully burnt a CD with it. Its pretty fast.

Roxio EZ CD Creator 5.1.0.104 still doesn’t see it though.

I uninstalled CDRWin to remove its ASPI driver so I don’t know about that one. Maybe if I install the latest version (not sure if it was), it’ll work.

(Maybe you have to reinstall these apps, after the drive is installed for them to recognize it?)

[QUOTE]Originally posted by alchymie
[B]I just got the new PX-W4824TA/SW burner today. Removed my existing PX-W2410TA/SW, installed the new drive, but am

Where did you get it?:confused: I want one:bigsmile:

I ordered it yesterday morning and got it at lunch time today.

link