PX-W1210TA, anybody used one?

Hi freaks! Long time forum watcher, but only just signed up. :doh:

I’m a computer technician for a school, and have acquired a Plextor W1210TA drive (EIDE, 12x/10x/32x). From what I’ve heard it’s only burned about 10 CD’s in it’s lifetime, and is in mint condition.

I’m just wanting to know which is likely to be a better CD burner, the plextor or an LG GSA-H55N DVDRW drive?

Has anybody used the plextor? I found a thread about the SCSI version, but it wasn’t comparing it to a newer drive.

Any help appreciated. Cheers!

Welcome to CDF’s:

I have a couple Plextor Premium’s and one Premium II and they are great CD-R(W) writers. I also have a Yamaha F1 (SCSI/IDE). Some of those SCSI adapters will just unscrew off with IDE connector underneath.

Sorry i really have no knowledge on that Plextor model but someone else might. Not sure if that model better but i use my CDRW burners for burning CD-R(W)'s exclusively. I haven’t found a DVD burner that burns as good as my CDRW’s. So i would use the Plextor.

Now on to the media. If possible i would use Tayio Yuden or Verbatim CD-R’s for best quality burns. Beings how you can only burn CD-R’s at 12x that’s is the speed i would use or 8x would workout ok also.

Hopefully someone here will know more about that model. That is an antique for sure, but a nice one.

Hi Bob,

I’ve just bought a 100 tub of yuden discs, so I plan to do a couple of tests to compare the drives. I’ll post scan results up too.

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

I had a Plex 12/10/32A (those were definitely the write speeds, but I may be hazy on how many letters in the model name ;)) back in the day…which going by the write speeds could be similar?

Great burner, though I’m not sure how it stacks up against the LG. CD-RW drives are said by many to be better at burning CDs than DVD-RW drives though, so I think for that reason I’d stick with the Plex. :slight_smile:

[QUOTE=rk696;2199262]Hi Bob,