PX-755SA - Does Autostrategy Continue Learning?

vbimport

I’m new to the Plextor scene with a PX-755SA. Thus far, I enjoy fiddling with all the tools but I’ve not been overly impressed with burn quality on the two brands of DVD media I’ve tried, MCC 004 (CMC from Office Max) and Yuden T02 (older, non-hub printable, from Rima). With Autostrategy on Auto, strategies were created for both. This helped some with the MCC 004 (I settled on 8X), but the Yuden T02 (which I’ve only tried twice at 8X) still seems dicey (ugly transfer rate tests on my LiteOn SH-16A7S).

Does Autostrategy continue to learn and fine-tune the initially-stored strategy with each burn? The only thing I could find by searching was at http://club.cdfreaks.com/showpost.php?p=786466&postcount=15 – which suggests that Autostrategy does continue learning. Has this been verified?

Thanks!

I don’t think it does. :slight_smile:
But usually MCC 004 and YUDEN000 T02 work well with default strategies too… or have I missed something?

Assuming you’re right, that’s a shame. I did try the defaults (AS Off PR On), and the Yuden T02 burned better (8X) but still exhibits a rough transfer rate curve on the LiteOn. The default for CMC MCC 004 seemed relatively poor (at least at 12X).

Why not try 16x for the MCC 004?

Possibly undue caution from past experience where 16X burns (on a now-retired NEC ND-3500A) looked great (perfect transfer rate curve) but skipped/froze on some of my set top players.

Where is HWP? Thought he might have some input to an answer to the original question. Inquiring minds want to know (hopefully definitively).

Reporting for duty, SIR! :smiley:

Unfortunately both Plextor and Taiyo Yuden (the inventor of AutoStrategy) have been rather tight-lipped about the internals. So I can only offer you my conclusions based on my own observations.