PX-716UF Min System Requirements

vbimport

Hello all,

I’m a newbie and so this’ll sound like a newbie question:

The box mentions that I need a minimum Pentium 4 1.4 Ghz or equivalent. I currently have a laptop with a 1.6 Ghz Centrino. Will the Centrino work?

Another question, I’ve read in several threads that achieving 16X with an external drive is almost impossible to do. If so, how can Plextor be selling this drive advertising the 16X speed?

In any case, I plan on using firewire and got this drive since I’m still somewhat hesitant about getting an NEC drive with a firewire enclosure.

Thanks for your help!

R.

Welcome to the forum raytwo,

Plextor is selling the drive as a 16x drive as it can reach 16x. So, even if the interface was too slow, the drive is able to reach this speed. Anyway, I agree with you though that burning at 16x via an external enclosure is quite difficult, especially via USB 2.0. I have an AMD64 system myself but my PX-712UF can only reach around 10x when ripping a DVD-Video disc via USB 2.0 so the interface cannot keep up with the drive. FireWire should be more stable but I haven’t tested this myself. Maybe someone else can add some more info on this matter.

raytwo, I have a laptop with Centrino 1.6Ghz and I read somewhere (also tested) that it’s equivalent to P4 2.4Ghz, so your system should meet the requirements. Good luck.

Yeah, I believe PCMagazine did an article on Centrino processors running faster than their labeled speeds. You should be okay. After all, there are not many laptops out there faster than a Centrino 1.6 Ghz! Having 512 megs of Ram in your laptop likely helps too.

Here’s a link to Intel Processors and their clock speeds. However these speeds are as mentioned slower than reality.
http://www.intel.com/products/processor_number/info.htm#notebook

http://danawa.co.kr/comindex_right.php3?product_view=SALE&kindc=COM&typec=CDR&codec=RWPLEXTORPX716UF

PX-716UF for about US$270 in South Korea.