PX-708A now only burns at 1x?

I have been using my burner for some time now (1+ years) and in the last 3 weeks it has gone from consistently burning my 4x Arita media at 8x to now 1x. I have checked the DMA setting and its ok. I think the problem started when I upgraded my firmware from 1.09 to 1.11. After this, (I think so), my burner dropped to only burning at 1x and with the same media (bunch of DVDs) that I had always used. Should I try and change back to 1.09? Is that possible? Any other suggestions of things I should look at?

thanks

Are you sure that DMA is set and active? During the burn session, does the drive’s buffer underrun technique kick in a lot? If it does it’s a sure sign that there is a DMA related problem (read: it’s not active). I think this because it’s not likely for the drive to record at 1X because its lowest supported speed for DVD+R discs is 2.4X. It can’t record at lower speeds than that. Or are you using Arita DVD-R discs? For DVD-R 1X is possible (but still unlikely).

When I go to device manager, IDE secondary shows Ultra DMA 2 as active. Is there something else I should check to ensure this is correct? My primary IDE showed “Ultra DMA 5” as active. The buffer doesn’t seem to have an issue during the burn (I think), but I am not sure how to tell other than looking at the number of bytes or whatever is in the buffer. I am using DVD+R disks.
I have actually now reverted to 1.09 to see if that makes any difference.

Another test you can do is Burst Rate test using Nero CD-DVD Speed (press F6). A burst rate of 23-24MB/s ensure you have a correct DMA setting. Make sure you have a burnt DVD inside the drive for the test.