Put internal DVD recorder into external CD BURNER case

vbimport

I am a Newbie! hello! :o I am also a MAC user, I want a DVD burner and I have 2 old external CD burners, I have searched and saw that you can sometimes PLOP a new DVD burner into the case? I would need a DVD burner that would be compatible with a mac mini running OS 10.3.7 THANKS in advance and glad to be a part of this group!
burnonenot :flower:

The first thing I’d do would be to search for a USB/Firewire case which is well known for mac compatability. I wouldn’t expect the burner would make much difference between Macs & PC’s. So have a quick search for what burners come with MAC software bundles, unless you have the software already :wink:

The Mac communicates with the case … the usb/firewire case handles all comms between the burner and the Mac :wink:

Hello,
I wondered how you had got on with this particular task. I am in the same position but can’t find info about drivers for DVR being compatible with Mac. I am a Newbie so I would be grateful to know how it went.
Thanks
LOZMAC

Hi
You should have no probs either if you get a manufactured external box or an enclosure to install a drive of yours.
I’ve enclosures ( dual USB2.o/Firewire 400) that are Win/Mac/Linux compatible.
With you O/S version it should go, providing you have the software. But if not you have to buy it and there are offers in the market.
Just an example, I add 2 links that show Win/Mac compatibility, but most drive’s boxes (either internal and external) now use to show the compatibility logos and it’s normal to find Mac printed on it.

http://www.macally-europe.com/productpage.php?product=808

Hello again,