Ps2 back-up wont go past load screen

hi, i’m a newbie to this forum stuff and fairly new to backing up ps2 games, just wondering if anyone could help me with this very frustrating problem?

i’m from Aussie town and have recently paid a pro to install the myth chip on my ps2. i back up my original, legally bought ps2 games with DVD Decryptor by using the iso read/ iso write method, the computer has no problems performing this but when i load it into my ps2, the ps2 load screen comes up and then it goes blank, its a no show no matter how long i wait!
i have an imation dvd recorder and have used several media(TDK dvd+rw,no name dvd-r and even a sony dvd-r) and these had no effect on the problem
i have tried the games KH2, tekken 5 and FFX all with the same problem!

i have not seen this problem posted anywhere else can someone help out a poor digger!
thanks in advance :confused:

It’s a complicated problem. May be the laser itself, the media or the chip. Try to boot an original. (with chip enabled of course) Then boot it with chip disabled. If that boots up with chip enabled and disabled, then your chip is fine, otherwise that also would not boot as the incorrectly soldered chip would halt the booting process. If that does not boot when the chip is enabled then it is the chip. To test the media/laser, burn a movie onto a DVD-R and disable the chip (you got instructions how to disable the Myth chip, right :slight_smile: ) and see whether the movie plays fine at all. What version is that PS2 ?

regards, Stephen

pS: why don’t you go back to the pro and ask him to look into that ? Resoldering a wire would not take ages, and a pro can easily identify the problem when he can see the machine. (I had one machine that produced the same last week, the old Magic 2 chip died, replaced the chip and everything worked like a charm)