Proper setup for home theatre?

vbimport

After many years and tons of use, my H/K AVR120 has come across a few problems, so I went and replaced it with a Denon AVR 588 7.1. Too bad, it may seem old by today’s standards, but man that thing can drive quality sound… she’ll be missed. I get that the 588 is entry-level, but thats all I need. I’m not putting on concerts or screening movies to the entire neighbourhood.
In that process, I also came home with a new LCD flat panel so I could start making use of of the 1080 definitions being passed by my PS3. Now, I’m not a newbie, but I’m no pro either, and thought I would reach out to some of you that will have more advanced understandings than I will.

Using HDMI 1.3 cables from the PS3 to the television meant I could only use the TV speakers for the PS3; for some reason I could never figure out, it would not pass the audio to the H/K through the optical cable. Thats one thing I want to get past; the Denon has HDMI capability, which the H/K did not (understandable, as the H/K is almost 10 years old). So, if I use HDMI from PS3 to Denon, and then again from the Denon to the TV, will I get the 1080 definition on the screen and be able to get the audio through my home theatre? The Denon 588 is HDMI switcher, not repeater, so I know it won’t pass the audio to the television. I just want to know what headaches to avoid in detting up the home theatre; it’s still in the box, and although it gets a lots of worth reviews, a common negative theme with Denon is that they are not user friendly when it comes to initial setup.
My HD cable box is component only, not HDMI ready, so thats easty enough to take care of, but should I pass the video though the Denon as well as the audio? With component video, I can just put the vido cables right into the TV, but would it be better to pass them through the receiver? I only ask because I don;t (yet) know if this will have anything to do with Auto Lip Sync Support, which the 588 does not have.