Prodisc exits recordable media business

I just posted the article Prodisc exits recordable media business.

The fourth largest manufacturer of recordable media in the world, Prodisc, announced today that it has made a request to a local Taiwanese court for emergency measures to temporarily prevent its…

Read the full article here:  [http://www.cdfreaks.com/news/14929-Prodisc-exits-recordable-media-business.html](http://www.cdfreaks.com/news/14929-Prodisc-exits-recordable-media-business.html)

Feel free to add your comments below. 

Please note that the reactions from the complete site will be synched below.

While I’m not a huge Prodisc fan, I see this as bad news. The less competition and variety of recordable media there are, the worse off consumers are.

I think it’s great news. Prodisc has been thumbing it’s nose at Philips for years. Cheap media? yes: Because they have not been paying royalities on CD-R media. Good for the consumer? Yes because now perhaps some profit can be made. If you have not noticed Ritek and CMC (and Prodisc) having been losing money for years. This does not lead to better products. All three have been trying to put each other out of business in a price war that has been the demise of many other manufacturers.

Well, it just goes to show that, It’s not only BD that requires royalties.:bigsmile:

As for Prodisc. If they go down then it has to be bad for consumers IMO. Less choice and less competition.

Less competition drives prices up. I can’t see how that would be good for the consumer. As for quality, you have a choise of good quality dosks like TY, MKM etc and questionable quality like Moseb Bauer and CMC. That won’t change, only the prices will.

Well, Unfortunately, Prodisc is one of the cheap-yet-good quality DVD Suppliers, Mainly PRODISC R04 and R05, which’ve proven to be quite cheap with really great scans, i wouldn’t have felt any sympathy if it was Ritek or PRINCO who’s gone out of business, but not Prodisc :(…