Problems with Windows Movie Maker (Live?)

vbimport

First, let me say that I am a somewhat noob when it comes to video editing, but here goes. I have a DSLR that can take HD video. I recently came back from vacation with loads of clips and pics from my camera. I wanted to keep the highest quality of my video intact as much as possible. Not wanting to spend any extra cash at this point, I decided to use the Windows 7 version of Movie Maker. After compiling and editing both my jpegs and video, along with sound clips and music, into a “project”, I wanted to save it in the highest quality format. The option I picked was “1080 for High-definition display”, which gave it an extention of .MP4. Not knowing much about this, I tried to play the file on my PC. Windows media player could not recognize the file nor could anything else that I tried. Since then I have downloaded a myriad of software tools and programs designed to either convert this file, or allow me to burn this file to a media disc. None of them have worked for me so far. Some of the recommendations were Handbrake, Aimersoft converter, and a few other things that I have either forgotten about or deleted. Anyway, I am frustrated with the amount of time that I have invested in the editing process and not being able to see my final work displayed. I have seriously contemplated going to a Mac (probably the imac) for dedicated video editing purposes, but in the mean time I still want to make as high a quality video as I can. Any suggestions on the already completed project file made in Movie Maker? Like I said, it took me a while to compile all of it, and it would be a waste to delete the whole project and start all over again. But, if that is what I need to do, then I will. Is it possible to convert the MP4 file (which is 4.9GB) into as ISO image and burn it to a DVD disc? If so, would it play in my Blu-Ray player? Thanks!

If VLC media player won’t play it, the file may not be salvageable.