Problems with OPTODISCR004 on BTC DUAL 1004IM and firmware 0048

vbimport

i bought last week this Burner(firmware 0045) and now i have a few questions:
Yesterday i burned 2 DVD-Rs (intenso mid number i have no clue )
at 2x speed and they are working fine.
now here comes the problem.
Today i flashed my drive to v0048 and bought 4 OPTODISCR004 DVD-Rs(4x Medianca 4,7GB)
Ok i burned 2 Disks and the are unraedable in my LG GDR 8162B and i have no clue why(The burner self can hardly read them but thats just luck other times he reads nothing).
Are their any expiriences with this Typ of DVDs ? (bought in a vobis store nearby)
Or is my Drive faulty or something like that ( i hope not ^^'')

Hi Clany,

I read this threat for a while and I can say, that I have some experience in assessing this problems.
I have at home two DVD-burners, a BTC 1004, a Pioneer A06 and in my office the latest Plextor.
I tested the DVD brands Verbatim, SKYmedia, Intenso, Ritec G03 and Leaddata (the cheapos from media market).

As mentioned in many threats before, believe it or not, buy only brands like Verbatim TDK, Ritec and what is recommended by the hardware manufacturer.
All the other media is rubbish. Sometimes it works, sometimes not.

I have checked Intenso and Leaddata on all 3 drives, and both medias produce more or less the same bad. I checked this with K-probe.

So my conclusion is, the BTC is not the best but an acceptable drive, use media like Verbatim or TDK or Ritek and you are on the save side.

All other experiments will cost you time and money.

Speedy

I also bought some Optodiscr004 media from Intenso and tried to burn them on a Pioneer 106 firmware 1.07.
2 or 3 discs (out of about 15) could be read without errors.
For me it seems that optodisc creates some pretty bad media

Ok the only recommended DVD-Rs here are TDK DVDs in Vobis Store its not much but when it works without problems i try them out.
(somewhat strange is that the intenso DVD-Rs are working)