Problems with my nd-3550A

hi all

I am new to this forum, I stumbled here via google and hopefully you will be able to help me. I am new to all the terms here so please explain so I can understand what to do.

My newlybought, nec nd-3550a version 1.5 , drive is acting strange. When I first bought it I burned a normal cd with it and it worked. But when I tried to burn a dvd, the drive recognises the disc as a cd with 0 bytes free space. And I cant burn. The disc was a Fujifilm dvd+R 8x. I used both nero and alcohol 120%. So I went and bought a new disc a TDK DVD-RW 4X Singlesided. But the same happened with it. I tried reinstalling windows, because I thought that maybe it was software related.

After the reinstallation I can now write the TDK disc, but still not the Fujifilm. I flashed the drive to 1.6 in hope that it would solve my problems, but it got worse and now I cant read or write both the discs. I have another dvd drive which can read the discs.
Please help me.

Welcome to the forum.
Checklist
Make sure UDMA mode is enabled for the drive in Windows device manager and in your system BIOS.
Make sure you have an 80 conductor IDE cable to connect the ND-3550.
Remove any packet writing software, such as InCD. You may also try uninstalling Alcohol.

Can the drive read a pressed DVD Video?

You may also like to read our NEC FAQ for more info.

thanks for the welcome.

Can you explain what UDMA mode is, and how to enable it in device manager and BIOS.

I do have a normal ide conductor

Right now after the reinstallation of windows, I have no other related software installed besides nero 6

And the driver can read other dvds aslong as they are not empty.

I have read through the faq, but couldnt find anything to help me.

thanks for the help so long

sorry for doubleposting

http://www.real-knowledge.com/dma.htm