Problems with Liteon 812S and Ritek G04's

vbimport

Ok…going to try and post this again.

Hi,

I am a newbie to this forum but not to DVD Burning. I’ve been burning with my Pioneer A04 for a year now and decided to buy a second DVD Burner for my main PC.

To make a long story short (aka my first time trying to post and not being logged in…arrrgh). I bought a Liteon 812S. The first burner would not burn the Ritek G04’s at all at any speed. I e-mailed tech support and they told me to upgrade to the latest firmware (US0Q) and use the software that came with the burner (Record Now, i was using Nero 6). With Record Now, my cheapo Matrix 4x blanks worked fine, the G04’s still didn’t work.

Fed up, I returned the burner and got another one.

This time i tried it first with the stock firmware (US0F) and the Ritek’s worked flawlessly at 4x. So I decided to flash to the 832s and put the burner at 8x. The flash went great (OmniPatcher RULES!). When I burned the Riteks at 8x, the Liteon seemed to read the dvd fine. When I put it in my Phillips DVP642 standalone player, it played half of the DVD, got stuck and eventually locked up. So my question is:

1. Is the DVD burner again defective cause it cant burn reliably at 8x or

2. Is it possible my Philips DVP642 standalone player won’t play 8x speed burns?

I’ve been reading these forums and you guys are awesome at helping people out so I am hoping for some advice on this problem.

Thanks in advance

ritek go4 wont burn 100% reliable at 8x, try another at 4x

I was reading on other threads (I did a search on Ritek G04) and all kinds of people are burning at 8x with it.

Can you recommend any other 4x dvd blanks i should try that are known to burn reliably at 8x?

I am open to anything at this point.

Did you burn it at 8x using the G06 strat? Most of the posts I see with people burning G04 at 8x using the G06 strat.

May aswell make my first post useful :slight_smile: