Problems when I try to erase a DVD Rw in Nero

Hi all, I’m new here lol so ya I’m a noob :smiley:

I just recently bought an external DVD RW DL Burner by Liteon. It seems to burn fine with no problems but when I try to erase a DVD Rw disc it has a fit with this error message popping up:

The Wizard cannot finish erasing the disc and has stopped the process. Please try erasing this disc again to make sure that the disc is ready to reuse.

It then closes the DVD’s content window and pops up later with options to ‘play, view files or do nothing’

I try to erase the DVD RW again and the same error keeps popping up…

Any ideas what’s wrong?

Thanks in advance

Dariun

Dariun, welcome to the forum. :slight_smile:

It would be helpful if you listed the kind of LiteOn burner (e.g., 1693s) and the firmware (e.g., KS0A, KS0B). While this may be some general error with your LiteOn drive, it’s always a great idea to include the burner and firmware on it. :wink:

Ah, sorry, told you I’m a noob hehe

Well here’s a link to the site where I bought it:

http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=3SJW&SearchType=1&SearchTerms=liteon+DVD&PageMode=3&SearchKey=All&SearchMode=All&NavigationKey=0

Not too sure about the firmware stuff etc :S

ok, then it is this: LiteOn DVD±R/RW 16x Dual Layer USB2–a SOHW-1673SX-03C. Being a 1673s, this may help narrow things down…

Also, Dariun, it’s a good idea when posting a new thread to write an appropriate title, reflecting the nature of your problem, such as “Problem erasing DVD-RW.” :wink:

What software are you using? Hopefully not XPs built-in CD writer.

Hi

I’m using Nero to burn it but the normal Windows window to ‘erase thise disc’… that’s how I’ve always done it :confused:

I have no idea how to erase a disc otherwise :confused:

You can use Nero itself generally. When writing a DVD movie to an RW disk Nero will ask if you want to erase etc.

For other things Nero’s CD-DVD Speed has the option under extras.