Problems w/ Rosetta Stone backup (Safedisc 2.9)

vbimport

OK, so I’m kinda new to all this, but I’ve been reading the forums and trying to make this work for the last 2 days straight with no luck. I am trying to make a backup copy of a Rosetta Stone language CD. This is a language learning tool. It has been talked about in another couple of posts I found, but I am still not getting anywhere.

Had no probs making copy of the application CD, but on to the language cd which contains the lesson data and needs to run with the app and I can’t make it work. According to Burnout0.4, the disc is safedisc 2.9 protected.

I have a Sony Vaio SZ330 laptop
2 gigs ram
Intel Core 2 duo t7200 (2 ghz)
Matshita UJ-842D DVD+_RW DL

On testing using the [Sheep Test Guide](file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Korch/Desktop/CDFOH/Sheep%20Test%20Guide.htm) this drive passes the two sheep burner test, but does not pass the SD 2.9 test (cyclic redundancy check).

Knowing all that, I’ve given up on making a perfect disc copy with the hardware I have available and what I want to do is at least get it working from a virtual drive so that I can use this program on my work computer as well (Vaio v505) and not have to worry about carrying/damaging/forgetting the disc.

I have tried making images with the latest versions (downloaded April 9, 07) of both clonecd and alcohol120%. I have used both programs’ ATIP hiders. I have tried all combinations of resets,etc. I am at my wits’ end here. I know I can’t make a functional CD copy with my burner (annoying on a brand new 2007 PC), but I should be able to at least make a working mountable image.

ADVICE PLEASE?!?!?!?!?

Also, This is wierd - when I

1. use clone cd to “hide CDR media” and then
  2. open clone CD tray from the start menu,
  3. then mount the image to the virtual drive.
    the program still tries to access my optical drive (i feel it spool up) and then tells me that I need to insert the correct cd-rom and then restart the application.