Problems w/ a lite-on 1635S

vbimport

Hi,

I’m not really a newbie w/ hardware, it’s just I haven’t built a PC or even dealt with hardware for the most part in years. The last gaming rig I built was a beast at the time with a P3 700 oc’ed to 933 and a GF2. Of course this was way before DVD burners and CD burners were expensive! So I really feel like a born again newbie of sorts.

Anyway I’m trying to help my girlfriend’s dad out. He has a PC that has two lite-on drives in it…a 160P6S and a 1635S (DM 5S163). When using nero or roxio to copy a DVD, while ripping the img to the HD, the 160P6S will do it in under 10 mins, while the 1635S takes 35+ mins.

Nero says the 160P6S is maxing out above 10K kb/s while ripping whereas the 1635S is at a static 1,800 kb/s. This is using DVD-R 8x memorex media.

I’ve spent a couple of hours researching to fix the problem. I’ve installed what I believe to be the latest firmware (YV6N) and it didn’t help (should it?).

I’ve also learned from my research that this particular drive has problems with -r media…is this the reason for the slowness? Is there a fix?

The PC the drives are installed in is a simple Dell E510. I believe there is only one IDE channel in this PC and the two drives are the only thing on it (HDs are SATA), if this matters.

I would appreciate any help! He has to make lots of DVDs every week bc he records his church’s Sunday services for shut-ins. Sorry if my questions were newbish…it has been years!

It could be that the 1635 does not have DMA enabled, try this link .

Also dump the Memorex, they’re very poor & variable media. Verbatim and Taiyo Yuden are the best available.

Well I’m not at that PC atm, but he switched the drives around, making the master the slave and vice versa, and the performance switched. The slave is always slow no matter what drive you put in the system (he has several burners).

So it’s not the burner itself.