Problems encoding divx5 into dvd

ermm, i am a newb so please make things as simple as possible, and i have also read tutorials but could not find solution to by problem

i currently have (the stats):

a DivX 5.0 vid (640x480 pixels with 23.976FPS)
2 audio streams as Ogg Vorbis (108kbps VBR and @ 48 KHz)
and finally an english ogm subtitle stream

All the contents are packed inside a Ogg Media Stream (.ogm) file.

i am trying to encode this whole vid into a DVD (mpeg2) format with AC3 as audio streams , keeping the subtitle stream but burnt onto a CDR media.

the entire file is around 235mb , please tell me whether it is possible to fit the whole thing onto a CDR after encoding , and also how to do the encoding.

Thanks for reading and thanks again in advance :slight_smile:

You said you wanted to convert to dvd but you also said you want to put it on cd. What gives?

well, you see, i dont have a DVD writer :slight_smile:

I don’t understand why you want to convert to dvd if you can’t write a dvd.
You can convert to any format you like but why bother?

like i said, i want to keep the subtitles, and as far as i know , VCD / SVCD dont do subtitles, anyway, even if i drop the subs ,and put the 2 audio streams as L&R on the VCD/SVCD , i will lose the stereo effect , so i need to have it as a DVD format.

hope that answers your question , because i still dont completely understand your question + i suck ass at english :slight_smile:

and thanks for reading :slight_smile:

You say the file is 235mb long, that bit of info is amost irrelavant, we need to know how long the movie is in hr min sec before anyone can say it will be able to fitr to a cdr or not. You can make a miniDVD, thats DVD structured and compliant files but burnt to a CDR rather than DVDR. Only problem is you can only fit about 20min to a CDR and almost NO dvd player will play them. They play on the PC okay though.

oh yeah, duhhhhh, i am so stupid , forgot about vid length…