Problems Burning to DVD

Hi and sorry if this has been done before.

I am totally new to the world of burning DVD. I have an LG GSA - H20 DVD+_RW DL+_R DVD RAM (At least thats what the packaging says!) on a new machine running Win XP Home SP2 trying to burn with Nero Smart Suite.

I am having no problems at all burning CD’s and CD RW’s but when I try to burn data to a DVD it says I need to format the disk first which I do within Nero and it uses InCD (I think) once this has been done all I get is messages saying wrong disk type please insert correct type of disk etc etc. If I then look at the drive in Win explorer it shows as a CD drive not as DVD drive, sometimes however it shows as DVD RAM drive.
After this the DVD disk seems to be unusable anywhere.

What am I doing wrong? Please help!

Thanks in advance
Rob

Many thanks in advance

Welcome to CD Freaks

Firstly don’t worry about Windows Explorer & what it calls the device. This is just a quirk.

Nero’s INCD can cause loads of problems & is best never installed. Not sure how you uninstall it but it’s got to be worth a try.

Are you trying to write to a DVD RW (rewritable) or just a standard DVD +R/-R? If it’s an RW then yes Nero must format it first but is unlikely to use InCD for the writing (I believe). What’s likely to be happening is that Nero isn’t finalising the disk to make it readable on other PCs. That’ll be in preferences somewhere depending on what version of Nero you’ve got.

However, if you’ve used a DVD+R/-R then Nero would just create ythe Data DVD without any problems.

So to progress this further we need to know the Nero version & the media you’re trying to write to. Nero’s CD-DVD Speed (found in the tools area) , with the disc info tab will give full details including the Media ID.

Hi Tim

Thanks for your reply.

Im not sure what version of Nero it is but it came with a new drive 3 weeks ago so I suspect 6?