Problems burning (Nec 3520A)

vbimport

Hello everyone!

This is my first post here on this excellent forum, and most probably not my last. I’m a total newbie when it comes to DVD burning, so please have patience with me :). Now to my problem:

I recently bought myself a NEC 3520A DVD recorder to backup some HDTV material, but unfortunately I am having some problems with it. I use Nero 6 as burning software, and when burning it doesn’t show any sign of problem (using UDF). However when using DVDinfo to verify the burned DVDs I get a lot of errors, and when trying to play the HDTV material I get a lot of hang-ups (more often at the end).

I have updated the firmware (Liggy/Dee) and tried to burn the same file 3 times with the same faulty results (in different places tough). This specific file is no larger than 3.2Gb. The media I use is Bulkpaq Printable, DVD Identifier shows the following:

Unique Disc Identifier : [DVD+R:MCC-003-000]

Disc & Book Type : [DVD+R] - [Not Available]
Manufacturer Name : [Mitsubishi Chemical Corp.]
Manufacturer ID : [MCC]
Media Type ID : [003]
Product Revision : [Not Specified]
Blank Disc Capacity : [2,295,104 Sectors = 4,482.6MB = 4.38GB (4.70GB)]
Recording Speeds : [1x , 2.4x , 4x , 6x-8x]

I had actually been reading on this forum (and others) before ordering the media, but it’s such a jungle out there that I finally decided to buy these Bulkpaqs due the fact that many recommended MCC-003. So basically, could my problem be media related? If not, how do I start trouble shooting?

Thank you in advance!

Kindest regards,
Patrick J.

I bet it is because the media is printable. With the NEC-3500A I’ve tried the following inkjet printable media:

MCC003 (Verbatim branded made in Taiwan)
Optodisc 4x (Acro-circle branded)
TDK TTG02 (Ridisk branded)
Tayio Yuden DVD-R (Sony Branded)
Sony 08D1 (Sony branded)
Ridisc CD-printable media