Problems burning CDs... Out of the blue too!

Hello guys!

My name is Hiyoko and I’m a total newbie in this forum. I signed up cause I really need some help solving a problem that popped up this weekend. :confused:

I have an “old” computer that I use mostly to download anime from bittorrent and to burn those downloaded episodes to CDs. It is not a brand computer, but ‘armed’ by a private technician. We bought it in Dec. 2001 and it’s still up and running. I don’t know much about technical stuff (I only use computers as a normal user, I’m not an expert or technician… ), but I know it was a hard drive of 40 GBs, most of it’s all used up with installed programs, downloaded images, games and programs and a lot of things. The only thing we’ve ever done to it, is to change from Windows 98 to Windows XP about 3 or 4 years ago. From time to time, I defragment the hard drive but, lately, it stops in the middle and says “it can’t complete the defragmentation”, who knows why. ¬¬

In any case… This computer has a DVD reader drive and a CD-RW drive. Both are LG and they both came with the computer when we bought it. So far, they both have worked perfectly well. But, yesterday, I turned the computer on to burn CDs (a lot of stuff had finished downloading and I needed to burn them so I could put more to download) and I did the usual:

• Put a blank CD in the CD-RW drive.
  • Open Nero Burning Room.
  • Choose the proper option to burn a CD with video files.
  • Pick the files.
  • Press “Burn the current selection” and wait until it finishes.