Problem with Sony AW-G170A

vbimport

My AW-G170A does not read several dvds that work on friends’ comps. Also the DVDs I burn sometimes cause a Filesystem error at other comps. BinFlash and nero infotool detect my firmware version as 1.62

How do i solve this problem? should i flash it to the latest 1.73? or is there anything else i can do?

I saw the original 1.73 on liggydee’s site, but there are two versions… original and rpc1. which one do i choose?

thats right, im a noob, but i’d appreciate it if you could answer the question.

Just change the firmware to Optiarc 7170 v1.04 , in my case this helps alot.

WOOHOO!!!

Yeah it solved the problem, now I can read the DVDs well, I dont have any blank media to test out the burning, I’ll update on monday about that.

EDIT: Should I expect any changes in burning speeds?

THANKS MATE!!!

Hi :slight_smile:
Welcome onboard to both of you. :iagree: :clap:
Good to se you’ve worked this out between you, without any old fogeys like zebadee interrupting. :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks, but being an old fogey has its own advantages, i think, the more you’re on this forum, the more you learn.

On topic, now the drive can read some dvds, but still not all. Most of them are DVD-R. All discs are accessible by IsoBuster, though. My friend has the same drive as mine, but without any problems. I’m planning to exchange mine for another drive. Any suggestions on the current best drives?

[QUOTE=dheeraj_kumar;2015712]Thanks, but being an old fogey has its own advantages, i think, the more you’re on this forum, the more you learn.

On topic, now the drive can read some dvds, but still not all. Most of them are DVD-R. All discs are accessible by IsoBuster, though. My friend has the same drive as mine, but without any problems. I’m planning to exchange mine for another drive. Any suggestions on the current best drives?[/QUOTE]

Go for the new pioneer 115D

hi…can someone tell me how to update the firmware?

Hi :slight_smile:
Welcome onboard