Problem with NERO Express

vbimport

I have a problem with NERO Express:

1. I started NERO Express.
  2. A dialog box tells me that I need to enable “DMA”.
  3. I enabled it.
  4. Next, it tells me to restart my system. So I did it.
  5. After restarting, I open NERO Express, then it tells me to enable “DMA” which I already did.

This could be a simple problem, but I don’t know how to resolve it. I recently bought the NERO software just 3 weeks ago. I am just a newbie at using NERO. Please help me.

Thanks in advance for any help! :slight_smile:

Do a search in the forums for Enable DMA. Just because you tell NERO to enable DMA, does not mean that your drive is in DMA mode. You likely have your drive in PIO mode. There are specific guidelines which have been posted here many times, which explain how to enable dma.

You have to use your Device Manager to set DMA for the device you are using, unless it is an external drive (Plug&Pray) that will cause your OS to take care of the “right” settings (I assume you’re using MS "little wonder named XP), but as harley2ride says you’ve to seacrh for the practical detais as this is a recorrent issue and there are several threads on the subject.

There’s a link in my sig to the CDF thread on enabling DMA :slight_smile:

Thank you guys. Thanks for the biggest help you’ve given. Thanks for all of the information!!!

It worked then? :bigsmile:

Hahaha, I’m guessing so :bigsmile:

I tried to uninstall all the IDEs, and re-installed them back. I can now open the Nero Express properly. Doesn’t prompt me anymore to enable DMA again and again. But, I don’t know what the problem will be in the future. Did I make a BIG mistake? Thanks.

Windows can automatically downgrade the DMA status of a drive if it gets too many errors on it. Nice & friendly - not.

It’s most unlikely that you did anything wrong. It’s just something that happens time & time again & is one of the most frequently reported issues here.

Hi TimC,

Good day to you.