Problem with ND3500 setup

Hallo everybody.
I just bought a brand new NEC ND3500 dvd recorder but something has gone seriously wrong during the installation. I describe the whole process analytically in order for someone more experienced than me to be able to better understand what has gone wrong and guide me. Here goes:

I turn on the pc an uninstall the previous versions of Nero express and InCD which I had installed with my old cd burner (which is about to be replaced by the brand new NEC3500). I then turn off the PC, to install the NEC.

I open the box and remove an already installed cd recorder (artec), which was set as “slave” in the 2nd IDE cable (I’m a bit new at this so I apologize for any wrong use of technical terms :slight_smile: ). The 1st IDE cable serves the Hard Disk (a Western Digital D 80gb). I put the 3500 in the same place as the artec, setting the jumper at “slave” (since it is in master by default).

I connect the IDE cable to the 3500 (on the “slave” slot). I also connect the power cable to the 3500.

I turn on the pc and (under winXP pro) everything works great: It recognises the NEC3500 and automatically load the relevant winXP driver. I then proceed to install the Nero 6.0 software, bundled with my NEC3500 (I bought the retail version). I put the cd in the new NEC burner (to test if everything is ok). The NEC works fine and NERO is installed. At the end it asks to restart the pc.

I push ok and when XP reloads, both dvds (my old dvd rom, which worked fine until now and the brand new NEC) on my 2nd IDE cable do not appear on the windows explorer. I go to the device manager and it shows that there is a problem (code 41 - winXP has succesfully loaded the device manager but cannot locate the hardware ?!?!?!?).

I tried everything but the 2 drives cannot be “seen” by winXP.

1. I uninstalled the 2 dvd drives from the device manager and tried to re-install them - no change: WinXP reported the same problem (code 41).