Problem with Lite-ON DVD RW - Burning Discs

I am a real newbie.

I have been reading this thread and think I have the same problem with my Lite-On LDW - 401S. I have tried Nero and Easy CD-DVD Creator v6 and the drive starts but never burns. I have the drive set up as secondary IDE, not slaved. (I also upgraded to the latest version of Firmware for this drive).

I saw on another thread that replacing the IDE cable solved the problem? Can it be that easy?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

One frustrated rookie. Thanks.

Replacing the cable is certainly worth a try. Can you tell us what, exactly, happens when your try to burn? What chipset and IDE controller drivers?

Thanks for thr reply. The drive starts up but the red light never goes on. Also the computer locks ups and drive just keeps spinning. The computer is a new Dell 8300 about a month old. I am too much of a rookie to know what version the chip set or controller is.

Thanks

Did you install the burner? How is it configured and jumpered?

I did not install the drive, but opened the box and noted it was installed as follows: the drive is directly connected to the secondary IDE connector on the motherboard. The swiitch is set to “master”. The bios setup incates that the computer is recognizing the drive as "secondary IDE, not a slave. No sound cable is attached.

Thanks for the help.

If it’s an OEM drive, you should contact Dell support, they may know what’s wrong already, or may send you a new drive to try.

Hi,
A few things to clear up first.

1. You are using the right media, i.e. DVD+R
  2. Does your burning software support 401s?
  3. Can you read other discs using 401s?
    If you answer yes to these three questions, it means the burner is stalled correctily. There shouldn’t have been any problems at all.

regrads,
iemoratl