Problem with glossy cdr

vbimport

I just got some Taiyo Yuden glossy cdrs and having trouble when they print. I have never used these before as I have always got the non glossy ones. From a distance when they are printed out look ok, but when you turn them a certain way under the light, you can see vertical lines that look like scratches that were not there before they were printed…also you can see wavy smudges that go up and down as well…I’ve never had this problem with the other cdr’s I have printed on…any idea what the problem is? Could it just be the cdr media that’s the problem…I wish I never bought these now…hope someone can help me out here…

I think it’s my printer doing it by the way the pattern looks…looks like the ink rollers scratched it somehow… has anyone had this problem and if so how would I fix it? I really like the glossy cd…thanks in advance.

Might help if you tell us what printer this is. Is it an HP?

It’s an Epson Photo R800…never had problems printing a CD until I got these…I printed on Taiyo Yuden Watershield glossy CDs…I also contacted Epson and just got a email from them with a few steps that may or may not help…just on how to adjust the print density and test by printing density patterns on a spare cd…

I had a problem similar to what you are describing with the two lines showing on the printed surface
of the disc. I was using some Optical Quantum water proof/resistant discs and after they were printed
you could see those two lines in the disc. I came to the conclusion that the 2 feed rollers were causing
the lines to show up on the discs because I’ve never had the problem with regular printable discs. The only
thing I can think of that causes the lines to show up on water proof discs is the coating used on them it
must be softer or something and the rollers put to much pressure on them or something like that. :confused: