Problem with DVR 212 and SATA - hangs/halts every 5sec

Hi everyone,

I just built my new system, everything went fine until I installed the ICH9 Matrix drivers to recognize my SATA devices. Right after it I noticed something is wrong with my mouse - when moving it, every 4-5 secs it has a short halt for 100ms orso - just enough to have you recognize it and that it is annoying. And I found out, it’s not only the mouse - sound hangs too, same for a DirectX9 Demo. :frowning:
I started playing around with different driver versions and bios settings, but no improvement. The only thing that seemed to work was setting the SATA mode from AHCI to IDE. Then the hang is much shorter and very close that you dont notice it anymore. But with this setting, i can’t use the hot plug feature anymore, so no go for my eSATA drives :sad:
So I switched SATA ports, SATA cables etc. and finally came to the conclusion that my new Pioneer 212 is the cause of the problem: disconnecting it solves the issue! When burning you can see the device buffer dropping from 99% to 60% at the moment the dx9 demo, mouse etc. hangs. :doh:

Any1 have an idea why this happens? The 212 seems to be a nice drive, but I can’t use it with this hangs. Or maybe all SATA ODD will have this issue with my mobo? :confused:

A few words to my config:
XP Pro SP2
Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 2,66 Ghz
2GB DDR2 RAM
Asus P5K Deluxe (Intel P35 chipset)
Fresh install, no overclock
tested different driver versions, disabled serial port, onboard LAN, onboard sound, nothing helps

Thanks alot in advance,
Pac

PS: sorry for my english but i’m not a native speaker :o

Hi,

Burners don’t like AHCI mode. Your eSATA ports are JMicron however, so unaffected by ICHR9 settings or drivers. Setting ICHR9 to IDE mode you’ll lose NCQ on the hard drive(s) though. Your choice… :slight_smile:

Thanks for that first answer!