Problem! Please Help =(

Guys, I need your help. I’ve been burning DVD-Rs for a couple of months now. Been using Decrypter (file mode), then Shrink, then Nero. I have a Pioneer burner and a Pioneer player. Always Verbatim media, always 4x burning. Everything worked great.
But one day I started getting CANNOT BE PLAYED in the player. I had to throw away like 6 dvd-rs.
So I changed the process. I started Decrypter (iso read), then Shrink, then Decrypter again (iso write). It worked for a couple of days until today I got CANNOT BE PLAYED again. Two times in a row.
Maybe a bad spindle?

Today I noticed something strange. After burning the dvd with decrypter (not having ejected the disc yet), I opened dvdinfo pro, and everything was ok! I then put the disc on the player and…CANNOT BE PLAYED. Then I took it back to the computer, and it was unreadable.

I really don’t know what the hell is going on.

Check the media code of the disc (DVD Identifier) and please post the result. And try to use AnyDVD with CloneDVD2, just to see the result (www.slysoft.com).

One additional thought – at this point, I suggest you try everything you can to NARROW the problem to its source (bad media? multi-tasking? use of labels? etc.) One thing you should definitely try is to take some of those backups to a second or third DVD (regular) DVD player is finally going bad, and causing discs to not be recognized. A friend of mine just went through this, and it took him three weeks to realize it. Burned discs tend to “error out” sooner when your player starts to go bad, since they are merely imaginary pits embedded in dye.

You should, of course, also check and double check the “golden rules of burning,” to see if you are making some simple errors during this part of the process.

-Bruce

MCC 02RG20.
Made in Taiwan.

Change the mediem, please and try the software I have suggested earlier. When burning, do it at a lower speed or at least at the certified speed of the medium (can be set in CloneDVD2).