Problem burning DVD's

Hi,
I am new to this forum and needed some help with a problem I’m having with the DVD burner in my Sony Laptop. I backup movies using DVD shrink and burn them using nero. I have not had a problem doing this for the 5 months I’ve had the computer. However now I can rip the movie, but when I go to burn it using nero I get an error that says: Unspecified Recorder Error!

Does anyone know what the problem can be? I thought it might just be nero, but I tried another program and I also get an error.

I appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks

What blank media are you using?
Is DMA enabled?
What burner is it listed as in Device Manager?

I’ve tried both Fuji and Memorex and get the same error.

I dont know if DMA is enabled because i dont know what it is…
The burner is named DVD RW DW-56A. I’m pretty new to this so thanks for any more help.

Look at the post right above your last post to see how to check if DMA is enabled. It’s almost at the very bottom. :wink:

Ok I checked to see if DMA was enabled for both the primary and secondary channels and they were. I would think that it was the media I was using but I have already burnt several successful copies using the same media I have now???

How about a bad disc that you are trying to copy? Try something else and see if you get the same error. Can you see any deep scratches on the disc you are trying to copy or is this a problem with any disc you are trying to copy?

yea its a problem with any disc… Ive tried about 3 different movies that have all ripped perfectly fine onto my hard drive. Its just when I got to burn them. The strange thing is that the day before I had this problems I was burning just fine, next day I didn’t do anything different to my computer and got this error.