Problem burning BD-R and CD media

vbimport

I’m having a terrible time having success or getting acceptable burn results from any new blue-ray combo drive I have tried.

I started with a Lacie d2 12x blu-ray burner (Pioneer BDR-205) which I have RMA’d twice now (on my third drive). I also removed the Lacie from the enclosure and tested it hooked up directly to my motherboards SATA. controller. Today I went and purchased two more drives: a Plextor PX-B940SA and a HP BD3401. I’ve tried different batches and brands of media. For blue-ray I’ve tried Verbatim 25GB 4x (non-LTH), Sony BD-RE 25GB 2x, and Panasonic 25GB 4x. CDR media includes Verbatin 52x and Phillips 52x.

I’m an audio recording engineer and have to deliver high quality CDR masters for duplication and also use DVD (and hopefully) BD-R to make archives of the large projects I work on once they’re finished. After my Plextor PX-716 died I have turned from PlexTools to using Opti Drive Control (1.48) to determine optimal burn speeds/media as well as to check the quality of my burns.

Here are the specifics of the problems:

All of my attempts to burn BD-R have failed. Trying to create a test disc in Opti Drive Control results in unfinished burns and the speed usually never goes above 2x at any point. The error message I get at the end of each unfinished burn attempt is 052400.

CD-Rs burn without failing and while I get decent C1 error levels, I do get a significant number of C2 errors. It’s extremely frustrating to see the screenshots of folks who are making exceptional discs with no C2 errors at all.

This leads me to question my PC itself. Below are my system specs:

Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Asus P6T Deluxe V2 (latest firmware)
Intel Core i7 920
6GB DDR3 RAM
Matrox M9140 video card
WD 320GB SATA system drive
(2) WD Raptors media drives