Problem burning an audio cd, remains blank

Okay, I’m a total newbie to computer stuff so I’m going to try to explain this as clearly as possible, thanks in advanced for the help!

I’ve been having this problem for some time now: I try to burn an audio CD (have tried using many programs, including iTunes and Windows Media Player and I do not wish to install a new program b/c I want to use iTunes/WMP)
But when I try to burn an audio CD, it doesn’t work… it goes through all of the steps and looks like it is burning, it reads the blank cd, transfers songs onto cd, and finalizes. Then the computer says it’s done but then a few minutes later the cd is recognized as a blank cd again and there is nothing on it when I check it via My Computer. (I also can’t burn images or anything onto a cd)

I used to be able to burn cds on my laptop but starting last Dec. it just stopped. I have checked and it says that I have the latest hardware installed and that the drive is enabled. I have also tried lowering the burn speed of the cd burner and in iTunes/WMP, it’s at 8x. Is this possibly a problem with the actual cd burner drive thing? I have tried cleaning it but nothing works. By the way, it can read cds, but it can’t burn them. Can someone please give me some advice? I’m so desperate! I’ll do anything to avoid spending 4 hours on the phone with a dell support person from India.

System Info:
Laptop = Dell Inspiron E1505
Windows XP Professional, SP3
And on the side of my laptop where the CD/DVD drive is, it says… Compact disc ReWritable Ultra Speed, RW DVD+ReWritable, and DVD R/RW
Windows Media Player 11
iTunes 8
Using TDK cd-r’s, 700 MB

try using ‘Burrrn’ (http://www.burrrn.net/download/burrrn_package.exe) to burn your AUDIO CD’s :wink:

if that dont work… either your burner is dead OR there could be some sorta of software conflicts on your PC causing it to act up like that.