Premiere Elements noticeably lowers quaility of VOB video image. Please Help

vbimport

I have many old VHS tapes that I copied to DVD. I bought Adobe Premiere Elements 3.0 so I could edit them. Here’s the problem: The quality of the video on the DVDs is great. But when I put the VOB into Premiere Elements 3.0 the video quality suffers noticeably. I ran the video through Media Player Classic and it looks fine. I guess APE doesn’t like VOBs. Or, should I be converting the VOBs into another format? Needless to say I am new at this. I’ve looked at the tutorials but haven’t found anything about this problem. Is there something I didn’t set properly in Premiere Elements? Should I have gotten different editing software? Any help is greatly appreciated.

I think the best way to copy a great number of VCR tapes to DVD is with a stand alone DVD recorder and a Video stablizer (if needed). Using PC software and a capture card not the best. Another option is Plextor PX-M402U to do the conversion.

Thanks CCRomeo,

But I think you missed my point. I have already copied all the VHS tapes to DVD using my Panasonic VCR/DVD burning combo. The DVD’s look great. The problem, of course, is that when I recorded the tapes I got hours of boring video. So now I have hours of boring DVD’s. I want to edit them into something watchable. Adobe Premiere Elements 3.0 does the trick EXCEPT for the quality loss. Before putting the video into Elements I replayed the copied DVD on another DVD player and it looked great. But after editing with Elements there is a very large loss of quality (you can see what almost appear to be “trails” when someone moves). It looks this way only in Elements (and of course in the resulting DVD burned from Elements). Has anyone had this problem?

“I have many old VHS tapes that I copied to DVD”