Possible to bypass all hardware decoding?

Hi there,

I am a student of mathematics and I am currently taking a course in coding theory. During a talk, the question was raised, whether one could improve error correction / quality of audio cds with “newer” hardware (After all, when the cdrom and audio-cd standards were made, the decoder-chips in the cd-drives were much slower and less powerful than today’s and perhaps one could use better codes than the two Reed-Solomon-Codes with better error correction ability…). In order to research this topic, it could be interesting to simulate the results with various different codes.
But for doing so, one would need 100% raw access to a cd-recorder.
I know that it is possible to “raw-read” a CD, but do I really get the bits and bytes just as they are burnt? Or is this data already “decoded”? Or is it impossible to completely bypass all ECC-hardware?

I’m not sure, I’m no expert by any means, but could this and this maybe be something of help to you?

Hmm thanks for the links;I have already found the second one; it gives a bit theory about the codes that are used on CDs, but nothing about how one could use other codes (with which results…). The first one is more interesting - at least it has raw reading implemented :slight_smile:
Gotta see if I can find a python geek at my university :wink:

Hi Tantris,

I made a preliminary package that goed a long way toward what you need, I guess; last version is laser2wav 0.0.5. Included is a file containing 288120 raw bits obtained from a commercially pressed widely available CD, and a Python program that decodes this to an audio stream. The program also does Reed-Solomon calculations (just checking; no correction yet). I guess this would make a neat starting point.