Point Me In the Right Direction

vbimport

I’ve been converting VHS to DVD for about 2 years. I feed from an older VCR with RCA jacks through an (external) Dazzle DVC 150, with Pinnacle Studio 9.

Generally I’ve found them to be not much trouble.

But, I’ve run into a tape that I can’t recover. I’ve been using dry and wet cleaners, and have wound and rewound the tape many times.

The video comes through with a variety of problems. It drops color. It flickers. It looks like some frames actually jump - like there is a vertical or horizontal hold problem. It’s a mess.

When I play it on a TV it is much better.

What I’m wondering is if this is because the Dazzle box has an onboard MPEG converter. Would I be better off getting a new device/card that supports something like AVI, and pairing it with freeware like VirtualDub?

Cheap suggestions are appreciated: believe it or not I’ve gotten most of my tapes converted without much trouble, and I only have about 25 left.

Sounds like Macrovision copy protection to me; this causes the colour to fade in and out and other “interesting” effects when trying to copy from VHS. I may be wrong, but if it is the case then you can make/buy a simple electronic filter that will remove the protection from the video signal. Just Google Macrovision.

Sláinte

midders

I agree with Post #2, used to connect the video cord from the VCR to a Video Stabilizer (video in) then (video out) to the recording device.

Interesting. I’ll give that a shot.

I have my doubts though. I have always suspected that this tape - purchased around 1995 - while it was an otherwise normal retail purchase, might actually be a bootleg rather than the real deal. Originally the video quality was fine, but the labeling always looked suspiciously cheap.

Would pirates use macrovision?

Would a pirated tape of an original with macrovision still retain the macrovision copy protection?

[QUOTE=boobounder;1995766]