vbimport

Hi All,
I’m new to buying DVD RW and ive made my decision down to these 2 drives:

NEC ND-2510A 8X DVD+/-R Dual Layer == $120
Plextor PX-712A DVD±RW == $175 with mail-in rebate

I will primarily be using it for:

1. DVD-/+ R for data backup
  2. CD-R for audio CDs (mp3 or wav)
  3. DVD ripping/copying (for games and movies)

Is the $55 price difference worth it to go with Plextor (which ive read is the King of the hill?)

plextors are overpriced, can’t bitset, and I’ve read can be picky with media.
the nec is well supported in the forums here with tweaked firmwares (which void warranty tho), can bitset (Again with tweaked firmware), can do DL if u need it, and is so cheap.

I’d go for the Plextor, it has On-Site Collect & Return Service where I live and is an excellent ripper for both audio and data which you cannot say about the NEC drive. The burning quality is excellent and I’ve never experienced any quirks with media, but then again, I don’t go for POS media. DL isn’t that great yet (compatibility issues) and the media is so expensive that you wont buy any DL discs anyway.
//Danne

What compatibilities and how do you know they will be so expensive to stop buying? If you meant the US$10 per disk price, they are just sample prices even if they are released to retail. Mass production will bring the unit price to US$2 and the to US$1. Even at this time, people from New Zealand and Australia are reporting buying prices like US$6 and it’s only been weeks. Compatibility problems existed even for CD-ROM but that was before the appearances of players and drives for CD-ROM. DVD+R DL compatibility right now is much better than CD-RW at the first release and DVD-RAM at the first release. Many of my drives and players can read DVD+R DL without any hardware or firmware modification.

If you meant DL is not for now, the same must be true of Plextor service. Both ways, you pay first and are paid back sometime very indefinite in the future.

@SL-Crippin