Plextor drive, first time member

vbimport

Good afternoon & good evening, i just wanted to introduce myself and say hello to all the good members of this forum… i’m a single dude living near san francisco CA and I work as a CAD Drafter for a medical device company. i have a pretty nice custom PC built by a friend which is pretty solid and runs well. i’m still a rookie for trouble-shooting so i only know the basics. my operating system is windows2000 and I have norton anti-virus along with a zone alarm firewall.

I’m not sure which area to post my question in… if anybody can re-direct me that would be great. I’ve been able to burn real dvds that I can watch on any stand alone player for a long time using dvd shrink which opens nero automatically for burning. I have a plextor px-712a burner and now i’m getting process failures about halfway through the burning process… i’ve already been through vendor tech support and they have given up on me. the last thing they wanted me to try was turning applications off through msconfig. i’ve tried everything and maybe my problem is simple but it’s hard to know. if anybody has any feedback on how to get this thing running again it would help tremendously… thanks in advance.

-Phil

Yo Phil-

Welcome to the forums-

Sounds like it could be either a software conflict or poor media-

First - lets look at the software - go to your Control Panel and to “Add/Remove Programs” Look for anything “Roxio” or “InCD” and remove it - restart computer and see if the problem is solved - if not then we also need to look at your media - and at this junction - you need to post what media you are trying to write to-

Mike

sweet, thanks bigmike! i will try those ideas soon as i get home from work and post again…